My Husband, the Alpha (Reader)

Usually, I talk about how I read things but today I feel a bit more personal. I hope that talking about my process will be of interest to people. Time will tell.

Last night, I finished a rough draft of a novella that I’ve been working on. I’m not sure how to market it because my target audience is very specific. The genre is out of my comfort zone. This girl has always written action heavy stories. Adventures, mysteries, science fiction, fantasy. This is what I know.

I decided to write a story that’s more philosophical. A family story. Nothing “R” rated. It’s more character driven. The family practices earth-centered spirituality and that’s the closest to supernatural that I get. (And it isn’t very supernatural!)

This is going to be the first time I’ve let him read prose from me. He’s read plenty of poetry (I’m romantic like that) but I’ve never really had the courage to show ANYONE my work.

I could think about this awhile. Used to show my mom my work but she was a harsh critic! And I’m sensitive. Hopefully, my hide can get toughened.

So, today while I’m at work, he’s going to be judging me. Talk about nail biting action. I think that I could use some support from my writer friends in the Internet Universe.

What was it like the first time some read one of your works? Any kind words to calm a tense writer down?

5 thoughts on “My Husband, the Alpha (Reader)

  1. I think anyone who writes character driven stories is automatically brave by default. It’s why story-driven books tend to be well placed among the commercial fiction readers because it has all the expected technical elements of a story: conflict, climax, resolution, protags and antags clearly defined….but I’ve always loved character driven stories because they require an incredible amount of psychological exploration that we would never get from a character otherwise. It’s not what people expect what with having the sequence of events being secondary to the character’s emotions, reactions, and growth. I say, kudos to you for branching out and have faith in your writing skills because it’s a great place to show them off! I’m sure it’s gonna be great!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. How wonderful that your husband’s reading it! Mine doesn’t and won’t. He’s an avowed non-fiction-reader ):

    The first time I put my work out for critique oh, about ten years ago, I cried. I felt so depressed. But of course, my writing was atrocious back then, and back then, I didn’t think so. It’s still pretty atrocious still, but I can take criticisms much more gracefully now! For the most part.

    I’m sorry your mom was such a harsh critic! At least with your husband, you can discuss the story without courtesy and worrying about offending them! I hope so, in any case. I think you will be just fine.

    Like

    1. That sucks about your husband 😛 I would recommend real life writing circles because having someone (a friend or something) is valuable too. People always talk about needing critics but you need someone that loves everything you do, too!! Cheerleaders are WAY undervalued.
      I’m sure your writing isn’t as bad as you think it is. Sometimes, looking at the world I’m not sure that style is an objective opinion. Focus on the plot, someone will like your style. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

