A Little Courage, A Little Kindness: My Husband’s Reaction to Reading My Manuscript

I came home. Nervous about the critique from my husband, I rushed past him to change into my PJs with the hope that we wouldn’t have to talk about it. It’s a strange feeling, wanting to talk about something but not wanting to at the same time.

I yelled, “Babe, I don’t want to talk about it, yet.”

He didn’t hear me. Next thing I know he’s telling me all about his thoughts on the first half of my novella. There was a genuine excitement in his voice and I looked for any sign I could that he was just being sweet. Or supportive.

By the first fifteen minutes of being home, I heard about his favorite scene and characters. By the end of twenty he had run to the computer and started going through all of his notes on my manuscript.

I found myself weirdly defense about things. Trying to explain away things. But mostly, more excited than I expected to talk about it after all.

My questions came out rapid fire. It was like a force I couldn’t stop once we started. I thought of every single beta reading question that I had ever answered. Told him things to inform me of while he was reading. Felt better about this novella than I have in awhile.

I think he will have it finished tomorrow. If I’m honest, I hate the ending. I want a new one. All I can think about now is that stupid ending that I don’t like.

Hopefully after I get my editing notes, I can flesh out what I need to and start getting opinions from people I don’t know. I’ll be looking for beta readers and critique circles online. Anyone with advice in those areas, please share!

This isn’t turning into an all about my book blog. I plan on writing some posts for my beta reading audience really soon. Thank you for all the kind words and support. My readers are the best!

5 thoughts on “A Little Courage, A Little Kindness: My Husband’s Reaction to Reading My Manuscript

  1. “It’s a strange feeling, wanting to talk about something but not wanting to at the same time.”

    I can definitely relate. I’m glad you two had “the talk” though! I’m playing catch up here — luckily I’m looking at older>newer posts so I don’t yet know what happens next.

    I will say that I’m a member of a few writing sites. I’ve recently joined Janice Hardy’s critique connection yahoo group and found two beta readers within the first week! We beta for beta so it’s working out great. I’m also a member of critters.org and I have to say that is one of the finer critique sites out there. I’m positive you’ll find an awesome critique circle out there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

