Critique Sites: How to Get the Most Out of Scribophile

I’ve been on Scribophile for maybe a month now. My book being in the early stages, as it is, definitely needs some criticism.

Scribophile is a great resource for developing a book. I plan on having a series with the different critique sites as I go. Hopefully this information will help people make a decision as to where they may want to workshop their book.

 

How it Works

 

Scribophile has a “karma” system. Karma points are like credit and you earn the points by critiquing other people’s work. It’s been great seeing other people’s work because sometimes you find new writing you like or make a friend.

There are also reputation points to rack up depending on your involvement in the community. And it is worth it to be apart of the community.

 

How to Make It Work for You

 

There are writers that send their submissions out into the ether space of the Scrib universe. The most helpful thing I’ve found are the groups and forums.

Target audience advice has been the most helpful for me in this process. I appreciate when random people with different tastes critique for me. They usually have some good insights I hadn’t thought about but it is incredibly helpful when someone reads my book that would read my genre.

Scribophile has groups for all manner of genres and writing goals. There are even features within the site that allow the writer to post their work only for the groups they are members of and offer karma points to those groups respectively and exclusively. This feature would be helpful if you want to see the reactions of those within your genre.

The forums are another pot of gold altogether. I’ve made friends and heard interesting insights. I enjoy the fact that if I have a writing question, I can post it on the forums and watch a discussion on my quandary unfold.  I’ve made new friends this way as well.

 

Additional Features

 

There are writing contests that offer cash rewards or karma points. Most of them are sponsored by groups or members within Scribophile.

There is also a blog and “academy” page. The blog is full of writer interviews, contest winners, job offers, site changes and more. While the academy page is a great resource for writing advice and questions if you don’t feel satisfied by the answers you receive in the forums.

 

Membership vs. Non-Membership

 

There are some things that are frustrating with being a non-member. Your inbox is limited to 10 messages at a time so you can’t save conversations on your account unless you are a member.

Your critiques follow similar logic and disappear after a set amount of time. (I’m not sure but I think it’s 30 days) You can’t keep an unlimited amount of posts up on your account unless you’re a member.

A powerful feature that’s making my consider membership is the ability to see stats on your posts and even analytics.

They also offer discounts on Scrivener (20%) and Grammarly (40%) to their members.

I haven’t gotten a premium account yet but there are plenty of incentives to do so. I’ll save that decision for after I shop around and find a critique site home.

You can still do plenty without a membership though which is why I haven’t fully decided to make the commitment.

 

Critique Madness

 

All in all, I am impressed with Scribophile’s layout and features. And I’ve quickly become addicted to hanging out in this community of writers.

This has made me very curious to see how the other sites stack up. My next adventure in this critique world will probably be Scriggler.com. It seems like a very different world. I’ll keep you posted!

 

4 thoughts on “Critique Sites: How to Get the Most Out of Scribophile

  1. I began using Scribophile last year, though I neglected to put my work up there. I’ve also given Figment, Protagonist, AbsoluteWrite (LOVE their forums), and of course, Wattpad, a try as well. Wattpad and Figment were similar. I enjoyed fanfiction.net and fictionpress.com, but I wish their forums were better. The site that worked the best as far as quality for me was Critters.

    I can’t say I’ve heard of Scriggler, and I’m very much looking forward to all your site reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for giving me more sites to look at!
      I have to admit, I’m horribly addicted to Scribophile now… horribly, horribly addicted, lol.
      I’m still trying to figure Scriggler out… I think I don’t like it. I can’t figure out how to make it work for me and I keep having issues with the site itself, it’s not clearly laid out for me. (It’s similar to Wattpad but I think Wattpad is better for showcasing.)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I totally understand! At some point, a couple weeks after I joined, I felt a sudden overwhelming “oh man” wash over me as I realized, “here I am, critiquing other people’s work, hoping that perhaps their accomplishments will rub off on me, when I really should’ve just been doing my own writing…” But the experience was fun. I got addicted to Wattpad’s forums for a short while as well. It’s all worth it, I think, as I feel it’s a good thing to connect with other writers. Absolute Write is the only forumming I’ve stuck with.

        Don’t worry, the addiction will pass! I’ll await your Scriggler review (:

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Jessica, Great post! I’m drafting my own post about posting something Scribophile for the first time [and terrified] and I was wondering if you had any tips 🙂 How do I make this horrifying experience less traumatic?? should I jump in with my current WIP or post something else? Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

