Beta Reader Interview: Cynthia

So excited! Recently I got to interview a beta reader! I enjoyed interacting with Cynthia and she was very prompt in response. This interview was so much fun. 🙂

Thanks for hanging out with us here at TheBetaReaderBlog!


What inspired you to start blogging?

My love of books! I have always been an avid reader and I absolutely love pushing books on people! The big reason why I wanted to start my blog was to meet others who love books as much as I do. I absolutely love the book blogging community and I am so happy to be a part of it.

What do you blog about? How would you describe your site?

I blog about books, books and more books! I post reviews and discussions. My site is a way for me to flail madly about all the books that I love. And yes, I also point out criticisms of books that I didn’t like so much.

You mentioned to me you’re interested in beta reading… What made you decide to dip into this awesome world?

Have I mentioned I love reading?? I write a lot of reviews and I hate having to write a negative review. Obviously, tastes are subjective and there are times when negative reviews cannot be helped. The worst thing is to write a negative review based on things that could have been improved, like pacing and character development. I have read and reviewed so many books and I would love the opportunity to work with writers on how they may improve. I want to make sure that when a book is published, it is the best that it can be.

Have you beta read anything yet?

I am in the process of beta reading my first manuscript. I have several authors who have submitted beta read requests, but I still have openings for more.

What do you think you could contribute to a writer’s work?

I can critique your manuscript both from a writer’s perspective and a reader’s perspective. I know what it takes to write a book and I know how tough that process can be. I hope to contribute an objective opinion and some constructive criticism, as well as some positive feedback about the things I love about your work!

Do you have a favorite genre or many? Which ones?

I read just about everything, but my absolute favorites are Young Adult and Fantasy.

Favorite Book? Favorite Author? Why?

This question is so incredibly hard!! I have so many favorite books, but I will try to keep it to my top three: The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte and The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay.

Margaret Atwood is one of my favorite authors. There is no one who can write dystopian quite like she can. I think I love Jane Eyre so much because I can relate to the heroine. She is smart and feisty and is not afraid to stand up for herself. The Sea of Tranquility is my favorite Young Adult novel ever. The writing is beautiful and the characters are so well developed. I have read this one more than once and it makes me cry every time.

Can writers contact you for a book review? Where can they see guidelines?

Unfortunately, I am not accepting review requests at this time. Between the ARCs that I receive for my blog and the beta read requests, I am a little overwhelmed right now.

Do you have guidelines for beta reading yet? What are they?

As I stated above, my favorite genres are Young Adult and Fantasy. I also love reading Paranormal/Dystopian, Contemporary Fiction, Historical Fiction, and Romance. I am open to reading other genres as well. The only genres I don’t read are fanfiction and religious fiction.

Below are my submission guidelines:

  • Email me at bingeingonbooks@yahoo.com

  • Include in the subject line “Beta Reading Request,” along with the genre, age group for your manuscript and number of words

  • In the body of the email, include the synopsis of the manuscript, along with the due date that you would need the feedback by.

  • Also include any specific concerns you would want me to address in my beta read. 

From there, I will decide if I can take your manuscript. I will ask for the manuscript in Word form so that I can make any changes.

If you have any other questions, feel free to email me at bingeingonbooks@yahoo.com or visit my Beta Reading Services page at http://bookbinges.blogspot.com/p/editing-and-beta-reading-services.html

What do you hope to get out of beta reading?

I hope to create a wonderful relationship with new authors and give them some advice on how to improve. I just love to read and I want to make sure that your book is everything it can be. I know from first hand experience that it can be tough to edit your own work. Sometimes an author needs a fresh pair of eyes and I would love to be those eyes!


profile pic

Check out her blog!

Bingeing On Books Blog

If you want to connect with Cynthia:

Twitter  .  Goodreads

Leave a Reply

